Show Additional Info

Travel Information Hub

Hema Maps Travel Information Hub


As explorers, we have found that there is no one place to find a general overview of travel conditions across Australia. This has never been more important or confusing with all the various border closures associated with the COVID-19 pandemic. Therefore, we have put this hub together to try and give you a general overview (please click through the links for more detailed information) so that you have the information to 'prepare to explore'.

Australian and State and Territory Border Restrictions (as at 13 Jan 2021)

Due to the COVID-19 epidemic, Australian States and Territories have imposed restrictions in terms of travel into their territory from overseas and from other States and Territories and also restrictions on travel within State and Territory borders. The table below provides a summary of the status of each of these border restrictions.


Closed to international visitors (ex New Zealand) Australia’s borders are closed. Only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia.
Restrictions on New Zealand visitors
New Zealand visitors (from non-hotspot regions) are permitted to travel to Australia without requiring quarantine except if they are visiting Queensland, Tasmania and WA.

For the latest information refer to:

Northern Territory

Interstate Restrictions
All arrivals to the Northern Territory must complete 14 days of supervised quarantine at your own expense, if you have recently been in an active declared COVID-19 hot spot (currently Sydney Metro only). No quarantine required for the rest of Australia and NZ (from non-hotspot areas)
No internal travel restrictions
There are no internal restrictions although any non-residents wanting to go into a remote community must still follow all the requirements of land councils and local communities, including checking if you need a land council permit to go there.

For more information refer to:

Western Australia

Interstate Restrictions

From Saturday, 14 November, WA will change its border policy. Every state and territory in Australia will need to record a 14-day rolling average of less than 5 community cases per day of COVID-19 for Western Australia’s new controlled interstate border arrangement to be introduced.

Very low risk states and territories

(No community cases in 28 days)

  • Not required to quarantine
  • Currently includes TAS, SA, ACT and NT

Low risk states and territories

(Less than 5 community cases per day on a 14-day rolling average)

  • Must self-quarantine for 14 days in suitable premises
  • Must present for a COVID-19 test on Day 11 if still in WA
  • Currently no states in this category

Medium states and territories

  • Must self-quarantine for 14 days in suitable premises
  • Must present for a COVID-19 test within 48 hours of arrival and Day 11 if still in WA 
  • Currently includes QLD, NSW and VIC
Internal travel restrictions
Travel is permitted throughout all regions within WA, except for entry into remote Aboriginal communities.

For more information refer to:

South Australia

Interstate Restrictions
The area of Greater Brisbane, consisting of Brisbane, Ipswich, Logan, Moreton Bay, and Red Lands Local Government Areas is a COVID-19& High Community Transmission Zone.
Effective from 12:01am on 9 January 2021, if you travel to South Australia from any suburbs within these areas you will be required to self-quarantine for a period of 14 days upon your arrival in South Australia and be subjected to a COVID-19 test on day 1, 5 and 12 of your self-quarantine period.
Exceptions to this include Essential Travellers, people escaping domestic violence, persons whom normally reside in South Australia, those relocating to South Australia and travellers who are transiting in/through NSW/QLD.
No Internal travel restrictions
Travel within most of South Australia is unrestricted, although people are advised to avoid unnecessary travel.
Some restrictions are currently in place in Aboriginal communities.

For more information refer to:


Interstate Restrictions
New traffic light permit system applies.
A red zone means that you will not be allowed to enter Victoria without an exception, permitted worker permit or exemption. Currently, this applies to Brisbane & Sydney metro areas.
Those travelling from a designated orange zone must apply for a permit to enter Victoria. You cannot apply for a permit if you have coronavirus (COVID-19) symptoms, nor if you have visited a red zone.Once you arrive in Victoria from an orange zone, you must get tested for coronavirus (COVID-19) within 72 hours and isolate before and after your test until you get a negative result. Currently all NSW (ex Sydney Metro is designated an orange zone.
Those travelling from a designated green zone must apply for a permit to enter Victoria but are not required to quarantine. All of Australia except NSW and Brisbane metro are green zones.
No internal travel restrictions
No restrictions on travel within Victoria.

For more information refer to:


Interstate Restrictions
Have a permit system based on low, medium and high risk areas. Currently, Brisbane Metro and certain sites in Melbourne are considered high risk. Sydney metro has been classified medium risk. Check the site below for specific restrictions.
No internal travel restrictions
No restrictions on internal state travel.

For more information refer to: 

New South Wales/ ACT

Interstate Restrictions
No interstate travel restrictions. 
No internal travel restrictions There is currently no limit on the distance that a person may travel, however NSW Health recommends non-essential domestic travel should be avoided.

For more information refer to:


Interstate Restrictions

The Queensland border is closed to anyone who has been in a COVID-19 hotspot in the last 14 days or since the hotspot was declared (whichever is shorter). Currently specific parts of New South Wales (greater Sydney area) are hotspots. Anyone travelling to Queensland who has been in NSW at any time since 1am Friday 11 December must complete a Queensland Border Declaration Pass before they enter Queensland.

    No internal travel restrictions
    Queenslanders can travel anywhere within the state, or outside of Queensland that is not a declared hotspot, currently the Brisbane metro area.

    For more information refer to:

    Track Conditions Travel Blog

    For more in-depth weekly travel updates and information, check out our track conditions blog via the following link:

    Road Conditions Map

    Hema Maps has compiled a map showing roads conditions, closures and hazard data using live sources from The Department of Transport and Main Roads (QLD), Roads and Maritime Services (NSW), VicRoads (VIC), Main Roads (WA).

    All travel regions, National Park and Shire information is compiled from state government and regional council sources and websites. 

    To reference the map please click on the following link: